Veteran Sports Car and Open-Wheel Driver

News Index

Luis Diaz Voted Most Popular Driver


“Night of Champions” a Big Evening for Lowe’s Fernandez Racing

Luis Diaz added to Lowe’s Fernandez Racing’s accolades on Sunday evening at the American Le Mans Series “Night of Champions” season-ending banquet in Monterey, California. Diaz earned the coveted Most Popular Driver Award which is voted on by fans worldwide of the ALMS. The special honor was presented by David Brabham, last year’s winner.

In addition to the LMP2 driver championship award presented to Adrian Fernandez and Diaz, the team championship award and the Michelin® GREEN X® Challenge title, Lowe’s Fernandez Racing’s Tony Leith also was recognized as Crew Chief of the Year in P2 competition.

Fernandez and Diaz claimed eight class wins this year – Sebring, St. Petersburg, Long Beach, Salt Lake City, Mid-Ohio, Road America, Mosport and Laguna Seca – tying the American Le Mans Series record for most LMP2 wins in a season that was set by Penske Racing in 2007. In 33 ALMS career starts, the pair have claimed seven pole positions and 15 podium finishes.


All rights reserved Fernandez Racing LLC ©